About Us

Press Forward is an initiative founded by current, former, and aspiring female journalists who were impacted by powerful men in media whose misconduct has been publicly exposed.  Sharing our stories was just the beginning; Press Forward was born out of a desire to affect change in an industry where we began our careers and find concrete solutions to the problems the industry is facing today.  Our mission is to develop solutions that will change the media industry so that newsrooms are safe, inclusive, and fair for all women. We are comprised of award-winning TV and print journalists, CEOs, lawyers, non-profit professionals, and management consultants.

We informally launched in December 2017, on the same day Time magazine announced the Silence Breakers as “Person of the Year.”   In three short months, we established Press Forward, which is being incubated as a component fund within the Greater Washington Community Foundation. As a nonpartisan and independent initiative, we are all passionate about the role of the American Press in a free society and dedicated to maintaining its integrity for service to the American public. Through our initiatives we will strive to create a blueprint for permanent culture change, adopted by executives at all levels of the industry – from local newsrooms to network newsrooms and, ultimately, scaled to other industries.

Read Our Mission, Vision & Values


  • Melinda Arons
  • Dianna Pierce Burgess  launch coordinator
  • Kyle Godfrey-Ryan
  • Katie Glenn
  • Dianna Goldberg May legal & board strategy
  • Eleanor McManus  media relations
  • Gloria Sinclair Riviera
  • Lara Setrakian co-leader
  • Carolyn McGourty Supple co-leader
  • Shannon Van Sant social media
  • Cary Hughes Weekes operations
  • Addie Zinone